

CITY OF KEIZER VOLUNTEER COORDINATING COMMITTEE MINUTES June 8, 2023

Chair Daisy Hickman called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. In attendance were:

Present:

Daisy Hickman, Chair Jane Herb, Vice Chair Larry Jackson Dawn Reichle Bailon Corri Falardeau Leslie Risewick R.J. Navarro

Council/Staff Present:

Laura Reid, Councilor for Shaney Starr Debbie Lockhart, Deputy City Recorder

WELCOME TO NEW MEMBER: Chair Daisy Hickman welcomed new member R.J. Navarro and shared information about the Volunteer Coordinating Committee. Each member then introduced themselves and shared which Councilor appointed them.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES: <u>Jane Herb moved for approval of the March 2023 minutes.</u>
<u>Dawn Reichle Bailon seconded. Motion passed as follows</u>: Hickman, Herb, Jackson, Reichle Bailon, Falardeau and Risewick in favor with Navarro abstaining.

PUBLIC TESTIMONY: None

VOLUNTEER OF THE QUARTER NOMINATION ~ B.J. Toewe: Testimony was heard from Kris Adams and Rhonda Rich in support of this award. Daisy Hickman, Leslie Risewick and Jane Herb expressed support as well. Discussion followed wherein nominators and committee members agreed that John Goodyear should be included in the award.

Jane Herb moved that the Volunteer Coordinating Committee honor B.J. Toewe and John Goodman with the Volunteer of the Quarter Award for the First Quarter of 2023. Corrie Falardeau seconded. Motion passed unanimously as follows: Hickman, Herb, Jackson, Reichle Bailon, Falardeau, Risewick and Navarro in favor.

YOUTH COMMITTEE LIAISON APPOINTMENTS: Each school year Youth Committee Liaisons may be appointed as non-voting members of various City committees. A media release was distributed and applications were received from *Katherine Klein* for Arts Commission and *Angelica Sarmiento* for Planning Commission. Committee reviewed the applications and heard testimony from both candidates.

<u>Larry Jackson moved that the Volunteer Coordinating Committee recommend Council appoint Katherine Klein to serve as Youth Committee Liaison on the Keizer Public</u>

Arts Commission for the 2023-2024 school term. Corrie Falardeau seconded. Motion passed unanimously as follows: Hickman, Herb, Jackson, Reichle Bailon, Falardeau, Risewick and Navarro in favor.

Dawn Reichle Bailon moved that the Volunteer Coordinating Committee recommend Council appoint **Angelica Sarmiento** to serve as the Youth Committee Liaison on the **Planning Commission** for the 2023-24 school term. R.J. Navarro seconded. Motion passed unanimously as follows: Hickman, Herb, Jackson, Reichle Bailon, Falardeau, Risewick and Navarro in favor.

COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS: There are two vacancies on the Keizer Public Arts Commission. A media release was distributed and applications were received from several interested parties. Two withdrew their applications prior to the meeting and one left before his interview so was not considered. Testimony was heard from the remaining candidates: Derek Bish and Marilyn Wood.

Jane Herb moved to close nominations. Corrie Falardeau seconded. Motion passed unanimously as follows: Hickman, Herb, Jackson, Reichle Bailon, Falardeau, Risewick and Navarro in favor.

Jane Herb moved that the Volunteer Coordinating Committee recommend to Council appointment of **Derek Bish** and **Marilyn Wood** to the Keizer Public Arts Commission, positions 2 and 5 respectively. Dawn Reichle Bailon seconded. Motion passed unanimously as follows: Hickman, Herb, Jackson, Reichle Bailon, Falardeau, Risewick and Navarro in favor.

ADJOURNMENT – Meeting adjourned at 6:47 p.m.

NEXT MEETING DATE – September 14, 2023 Minutes approved: